Not my problem

Had a call to action but experiencing “not my problem” and not sure how to overcome it? Maybe you don’t even know you have it? Read on. 

“Not my problem” Symptoms:

  • Feeling a bit helpless and wonder ‘what’s the point, I mean sheesh, I got my own problems’

  • Got a case of ‘Ah, I’d love to support but y’know I’ve got these “other” plans’

  • Bit concerned about associating with the rabble y’know the whole ‘what will my work mates think!’ or ‘what if someone recognises me?’

  • Care a little but don’t quite wanna muck up your daily routine?

Note: These symptoms do not apply to individual’s and whānau who for reasons of necessity (e.g. incapacitated, daily dialysis etc) must stick to their routines. In such cases, it’s not a symptom of “not my problem” at all – it’s an entirely legitimate justification for not being able to answer the call. In many cases, not answering one call might just be a transitory measure. This post refers to those who pretty much never ever answer the call. 

So if you have or are experiencing one or more of the above symptoms then it’s probably a chronic case of “not my problem”.

What’s the solution? Well, the first suggestion is that you show some humanity. Do more than care a little. Actively give a damn. It’s probably then a good idea to think about the call to action. What’s actually happened or is happening that the call has gone out? Why is it important? How can I help?

Follow these simple steps and your “not my problem” will disappear:

  1. RESEARCH. No you don’t need a degree to type in some search terms on the internet and find a range of news items on a particular issue. You could also ask around – you know talk about it with others. See what their views are and find out where they are getting their information from. But if you do ask around and someone says “not my problem”, well, they’re hardly a solution to your condition are they! Ask someone else.
  2. EMPATHISE. Imagine the same thing were happening to you. Would you want people to passively pass comment? Or would you hope for action with every last bit of energy you possessed?
  3. MOBILISE. Plan it. These calls usually give advance warning so you can be there. So turn up.

Still experiencing not my problem? Repeat (1)-(3) until it disappears. Trust me. It was “not my problem” for years too. It’s amazing how easy it is to overcome.

